Programme Areas and Partners

Based on its mission, its mandate, its historical involvement, its capabilities and the present priorities of politics in Namibia, the Friedrich Ebert Foundation has defined its current main areas of intervention as follows:

•consolidation of the Namibian democracy and its institutions,
•support of conceptual and practical efforts for broad-based economic development and
•promotion of social development and distributional justice.

In a rapidly globalising world, one has to be aware that Namibia, as a small country of just 2 million people, is confronted with major challenges, all of which it cannot possibly handle on its own.

This is why the region, in particular the Southern African Development Community (SADC) sub-region, of which Namibia is a member, has become an increasingly important ground for institution building, policy development, standard-setting and exchange of experience regarding common challenges. In view of this activities within the Southern African regional programmes are rapidly gaining importance over purely national ones.

FES pursues this line of activities in close co-operation with its Namibian as well as its other regional partners, primarily through the organization of conferences, seminars, workshops, lectures and public dialogues, as well as through the commissioning of research and the publication of papers, presentations, and research reports.

Partners of FES:

  • Agricultural Trade Forum (ATF)
  • Labour Reserach and Resource Institute (LaRRI)
  • Mine Workers Union of Namibia (MUN)
  • Ministry of Sports, Youth and National Service
  • Namibia Informal Sector Organisation (NISO)
  • Namibian National Farmers Union (NNFU)
  • National Youth Council (NYC)
  • Regain Trust
  • Renewable Energy Industry Association of Namibia (REIAoN)
  • SWAPO Party
  • Trade Union Congress of Namibia (TUCNA)
  • University of Namibia (UNAM)
  • Youth Leadership Development Programme Alumni Association (YLDP AA)
  • National Assembly
  • Swapo Party Womens Council (SPWC)
  • Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST)
  • Metal & Allied Workers Union (MANWU)
  • Namibia Non-Governmental Organization Forum (NANGOF)
  • National African Farmers Unions (NAFU)


FES SADC Offices




Namibia Office
95 John Meinert Street

Postal Address:
P O Box 23652
Windhoek / Namibia

[email protected]

Tel: +264-61-417 500
Fax: +264-61-237 441